Prowling competitors, online bullies, spammers…there are different types of people you may opt to block on twitter. But exactly what happens when you do block them? Do they get a message alerting them of the fact?
Here’s what happens:
- Your tweets will not appear on homepage or twitter feed.
- They won’t get notified that you have blocked them – but, if they realise that they aren’t getting any of your tweets and then try to follow you again, they will not be able to re-follow you.
- You will no longer appear on their ‘following’ list, neither will they appear on your ‘followers’ list.
- They can still see your public profile but will not receive your tweets on their public timeline.
- If they try to send you @replies or direct messages they won’t be able to.
Find out more about blocking someone on twitter here: https://support.twitter.com/articles/117063-how-to-block-users-on-twitter